IGNORED

Faith-Based Sound Issue..

I have been attending a small AG church for about four years now.  We are members and really appreciate how our Pastor delivers God's word.

But our concern is primarily with how our worship leader delivers worship music - I feel waaaay too loud!

My trusty Radio Shack sound level meter sometimes registers 90-95dB average levels - and that's from the back rows of a  40' wide by about 70' deep sanctuary with ceiling vault up to 25'.  The opening worship is normally 25-30min long, and about 20min of it can easily reach that 95db level.

We recently installed a Behringer digital mixer plus IP-based monitoring and the ability to control the house/monitor mix from tablet, so even if I adjust things down a little on the Berrie I know the worship leader can just turn them back up on his iPad Mini.  

'Harry' is an accomplished leader with published CDs and also ministers on occasion back in his birth land.  Unfortunately he is also rather young, born early 1980s, so I consider him part of that 'loudness generation' as far as music producers and music listeners go.

What is a diplomatic solution to this issue?

I would have thought the object is to listen to the Pastor so you could hear words above the traffic, and clutter and shuffling of shoes without requiring ear muffs. What's that a 65db SPL normal conversation?

Perhaps that level is still possible from the furthest row, and make a test and it won't be so loud at the front or alternatively rear speakers to reinforce, lowering the level even further.

95db is far too high, you could use occupational legislation as a reinforcement of the rules.

AS Profile Equipment List        Say NO to MQA

15 minutes ago, One and a half said:

I would have thought the object is to listen to the Pastor so you could hear words above the traffic, and clutter and shuffling of shoes without requiring ear muffs. What's that a 65db SPL normal conversation?