IGNORED

Roon 2.0

mourip

Hi,

I have been using Roon for several years. Combined with integrated Qobuz it has really opened up my musical world. The most recent version 1.8 has been rock solid for me. I run the Core on Windows Server 2019 and the endpoint on a NUC running Piero's great Audiolinux.

They just released version 2.0 of their OS. Evidently it is mainly to enable users to get to their own music when remote from their home network. It is called ARC and has already been mentioned here.

I am not really interested in ARC but very interested in being able to survive the update with my server and library intact. If you go to the Roon Community forums it it as bit like being at the last day of Pompei, with people screaming and running through the streets while ash and rocks rain down. Not a pretty sight.

I decided to wait a bit until they remove the bodies and sweep the streets but am wondering if anyone here has already successfully updating.

Thanks for any input from those who have gone boldly!

"Don't Believe Everything You Think"

System

1 hour ago, Marco Klobas said:

I agree: a lot of users just start new threads without making a little research in advance.

I find this happens a lot here on AS as well. Several members have bought DAC’s that don’t support Linux-based computers then start threads trying to figure out why they don’t work or how to workaround the issue. If they had just read the product documentation prior to purchasing the DAC it would save a bunch of heartache. Same with HQPlayer, users can’t figure out how it works without reading the documentation.

More on topic, I have upgraded to Roon 2.0 without issue on my Linux server and iPad remote. I don’t use ARC but did find that there was a Roon entry in the UPnP section of my router. I have since turned off UPnP based on recommendations here on AS.

Which DAC's don't support Linux? Can you name them?

Linux oft time doesn't need drivers.