IGNORED

Overall Isolation - network, USB, and power

Hello all,

I've followed, with great interest, the explorations and findings reported here to improve sound quality in the area of isolation. These seem to fall into 3 categories: network, USB, and power, and they are mostly discussed in, well, isolation. :) However, in many cases, an improvement in one area can cause a degradation or worse, failure, in another.

I've tried to make sense of this in my system, and am finding myself somewhat confused. What I'm hoping with this thread is to get the experts here to discuss some of these trade-offs in the context of an overall system.

What do I mean by trade-offs? Before I get there, let me summarize the tenets of SQ improvement through digital audio isolation that I've gleaned here. This is by no means a complete list.

1. LPSes greatly improve SQ over stock SMPSes
  2. Battery PSes can provide excellent SQ, while reducing the potential of ground loops
  3. Network isolation using a pair of FMCs upstream of a DAC can improve SQ
  4. The FMC closer to the DAC should have an LPS or battery pack for best SQ
  5. Some advocate using a passive network isolator instead of FMCs
  6. USB regeneration/reclocking via Regen/RUR/Intona can greatly improve SQ
  7. Suppressing the USB 5V Vbus for some powered DACs (using Sbooster Vbus2, taping terminals, or using a 3-wire cable like Curious) can improve SQ

Here are some examples of trade-offs and gotchas:

1. Every PS, even an LPS, contributes noise back to the AC line
  2. Adding FMCs also add power supplies, which could add noise (see 1)
  3. Adding a USB reclocker requires another PS, which could add noise (see 1)
  4. Connecting multiple devices to an LPS with multiple rails, can cause common ground situations that defeat isolation
  5. 5V Vbus suppression can cause some devices to fail the USB handshake