IGNORED

DSD downloads worth the trouble?

What is your opinion/experince on DSD downloads.

Is the quality of sound really so much better than 24/96 or higher

To play them I understand one needs a DAC that is capable to play them.

In that case which DAC? Korg?

Opinions please.

33daaa19a111dce9bf021f9899a424d6_pc.jpg

What is your opinion/experince on DSD downloads.

Is the quality of sound really so much better than 24/96 or higher

Just my opinion, but I think that "pure" DSD recordings (like the Channel Classics stuff), plus many DSD's from analog masters can sound really great. Personally, I like having the ability to play back both PCM and DSD recordings. A number of people on this site also like the results from converting PCM to DSD prior to playback, but I have no personal experience (to date) with that approach. I would say that if you don't listen to a lot of classical or jazz, your choices of DSD recordings/remasters are pretty limited.

To play them I understand one needs a DAC that is capable to play them.

In that case which DAC? Korg?

Which DAC depends on your budget, so indicate how much you plan on spending, and I'm sure people will have recommendations.

--David

Listening Room: Mac mini (Roon Core) > iMac (HQP) > exaSound PlayPoint (as NAA) > exaSound e32 > W4S STP-SE > Benchmark AHB2 > Wilson Sophia Series 2 (Details)

Office: Mac Pro >  AudioQuest DragonFly Red > JBL LSR305

Mobile: iPhone 6S > AudioQuest DragonFly Black > JH Audio JH5

Hi Orgel, thank for your respons.

I listen mostly to jazz and classical.

I should like a DSD DAC that is able to drive my 300 ohm Sennheiser HD800 headphone. Budget 1000$.

Why does people convert PCM to DSD? Does the DSD conversion add to the sound?

I have several original 24/88 and 24/96 and higher files and always thought that the best was to get music files, if possible, in the original format they where recorded in, avoiding any up or down sampling.