IGNORED

Audirvana and room correction/equilization

I started playing with the free two week demo of Dirac, despite having been put off by the shameless appropriation of the name of one of the world's greatest physicists.

Anyway, I have made a few measurements. Here are before and after correction screenshots from my primary listening position, using a somewhat reasonable USB mic.

I would prefer to do the room correction with an audirvana plug-in system, if that indeed is where it is headed. Anyone know any more about this than I do?

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 12.58.31 PM.png

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 12.59.26 PM.png

I've only tried playback so far with iTunes and the Dirac room correction program. If there are audible differences, they are fairly subtle. The graph of the correction is somewhat reassuring, but I worry I could do more harm than good, and the software is quite pricey. I've also experienced some skipping during playback, which would be a deal-breaker for me.

So how bad is the room to begin with? Given that it is my living room, I am somewhat limited to how much mammary foam I can glue to the walls and ceiling.

It appears in Audio MIDI. You set it to play back through that, and then select your DAC or bridge or whatever from within the DIRAC software, so the signal path is player software --> Dirac --> Audio Out --> DAC --> etc. So the advantage is it does everything on the computer in the digital domain. I think it is limited in terms of output only by the limits of the DAC.

To my ears, minimally, but you know how that is.

How bad is the uncorrected graph?

The uncorrected graph doesn't look too bad to me for an in-room response. Could be why you don't hear much difference.

Antipodes DXe > MSB Analog DAC (Quad USB input) > Bent Audio AVC-1 > Border Patrol SE300B > Edgar-inspired front horns