IGNORED

LT3045 Paralleling - ILIM circuit pros and cons

Which is more important? Output impedance? Regulation speed? Frequency response? PSRR/noise? Would be difficult to understand in a mult-variable system, obviously.

Technical arguments are difficult to be conclusive because of the relative weights of the positive and negative factors are difficult to pin down.

Perhaps a comparison (in terms of SQ) of the 2 circuits would give good support as to which approach is better (or same) in a typical digital and/or analog application.

Such a test setup may not be too difficult to arrange.

Of course, SQ as perceived by listeners are subjective - but this is par for the course.

On 10/28/2019 at 8:12 AM, [email protected] said:

1.       I am not a professional radio engineer

2.       English is not my native language

I don’t agree with @Superdad that ILIM based “unique” way of paralleling LT3045 is better and this is the only reason why I don’t use it. I already explained why the statement about his “way to cut the output impedance nearly in half” is a bit tricky (because it is very low absolute values and a minor part of the full impedance measured at the point of load even with high quality cable/connectors used). And don’t forget - the maximum power transfer from a source to a load is usually achieved when the load impedance matches the source impedance.

Let’s focus on the second part of why I think it is harmful.

Let’s check block diagram below, and see how current monitor circuit can impact overall performance.

image.thumb.png.408cf5de0ad6c7089c43e58387ce237d.png
with a classic design (without ILIM compensation), reference voltage (SET PIN) is a function of the current sourced by VERY HIGH QUALITY CURRENT REFERENCE (100uA) followed by a single resistor Rset and  Cset capacitor in parallel with Rset (Green path).
Vout=Vref = Iref*Rset