IGNORED

Favorite to show-off your system?

Hello,

As I'm starting to build a nice little library while I wait for my system to get to completion, I was wondering what track/album you all like to play when showing friends and family your system. Are there any "MUST HAVE" recordings a newbie like me should know about?

Thanks

Rob

Well, I like both. And I like things entirely different. It's not so much about the genre, but more about SQ of a recording. As I'm just starting out, I thought some suggestions for killer recordings would be handy.

I don't really like to demonstrate my system, but I sometimes get questions from visiting friends who are intrigued by the accumulation of boxes. What I like to do is pick a very well recorded disc in a genre with which my visitor is familiar. Perhaps my overall favourite is Stile Antico's Music for Compline (SACD) where singers can be heard with very natural voices that are located precisely despite the intricate polyphony of the pieces. A CD which I also like quite a lot for this purpose is the compilation of classical-guitar blockbuster Ivresse de la Guitare by Philippe Cornier. For more pop/rock oriented visitors of my age, I play Dire Straits' Money for Nothing (from Brothers in Arms) in remastered redbook form first on my secondary system (Pioneer D6 SACD player, NADC350, JMLab DB29 speakers) then on my main system then in its original 1980s CD form or in its recent MFSL SACD. This does a good job of convincing my visitors of the damages inflicted by the loudness wars. For younger visitors, I play Touch, from the most recent Daft Punk album (Random Access Memories), in 24/88.2 PCM from Qobuz. Those who are used to listen to it on iPhone earphones are in general astounded by all the sounds they discover in this piece when listening to it on a good stereo system.