Hi all!

In my quest for knowledge of all things audio, I came across the concept of clocks. External clocks, internal clocks..and I understood a little bit about it.

Can anyone explain what it is exactly? And what the benefits of an external clock are?

Also, I know I am a newbie and that the users of this forum are most often professionals, and i think it would be cool to have some sort of special section explaining in detail the concepts of audio, from source to speaker, with schematics and glossary. This website is a reference and I (humbly) submit this idea to the community.

So thank you for all i've learned here!

So either no one here knows what a clock is, or no one gives a shit about explaining. Guess it is better to discuss about how practicing voodoo will give you a better sound, or argue with Teresa about how the mini-jack output of her MacMini will give her much better sound than a High-End CD player...

I'm outta here, thank you.

Wow.. I've just discovered this great new website. It's called Google and various county specific versions exist including www.google.co.uk which allows you to search the WHOLE of the Internet.

Typing "Digital Audio Clock" gave me several pages of results which allowed me to find all about how clocks relate to digital audio...

In seriousness, read some general information THEN if you have specific questions ask them in a forum!

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.