IGNORED

Do you own the music you buy from a download site?

smdb01us

Maybe interesting... but apparently untrue (read the update).

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

Maybe interesting... but apparently untrue (read the update).

Eloise

Hoax or not, it still raises questions about whether somebody really owns a download he or she has paid for.

It is to be fair mostly a theoretical discussion, as once you do have the files on the hard disk, it is hard to control what you're doing with it, but I still feel a bit annoyed by the fact that most download sites I'm aware of talk about a "non-transferable" license.

I'm not a lawyer, but to me this means for example that something I downloaded off e.g. Highresaudio I couldn't resell. I wouldn't want to anyhow, but I still feel this entire legal situation needs a little bit of clarification.

This is an interesting topic. I see it as two different items.

1. What is actually purchased (a license to listen).

2. Transfer of ownership

A. Upon death.

B. upon sale or gift.

I assumed everyone understood they were only purchasing a license to listen. The transfer of ownership is another story. Does anyone know if physical CDs have such a restriction placed on transfer of ownership?

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

This is an interesting topic. I see it as two different items.

1. What is actually purchased (a license to listen).

2. Transfer of ownership

A. Upon death.

B. upon sale or gift.