IGNORED

What if you CAN'T audition?

Recently I saw a pair of Silverline SR17.5 speakers go for half of their retail price on audiogon. I'm new to both this forum and audiogon, but seeing that they sold in less than 48 hours, and the raving reviews about them lead me to this question... what if you can't audition? For me, I live in Orlando, and the only local dealer has been closed for a year (Absolute Sound). How do those of you more experienced know if some pair of speakers will match your system? I'm setting up my first system and have this possibly paranoid delusion that I'm going to drop $2k on some speakers and find out I'm in trouble.

Ok, not funny ...

But I have said it before ... there's so much difference to this respect with your place and here (say, Netherlands, UK, Germany).

What I would dare to do ...

Call the nearest dealer, offer him $200 or something for sending you his demos which he has anyway. Of course start with telling that you're all over it in the first place, so it's really not your intention to send them back.

Give him your address and telephone so he can verify a few things, and next pray he sends them but you only paying that $200 at first.

Overhere it is the most normal to drag into your car all the gear you want to audition at home, but then distances can hardly be further than some 200 miles. Anyway, within that range you could try that too, after suggesting it by phone.

Ah, so in that case you can audition just the same ? no. I would never do that. Listen to it in your room.

One other thing - and a more sneaky one maybe - is suggesting that the dealer visits your place with the gear. That too happens here, and you are told that only in that case all would be setup and connected right (to some extend true). This happens for free (but don't ask me about the margin), but in the end you could offer some money as a bonus.

I hope this helps ...

Peter

Lush^3-e      Lush^2      Blaxius^2.5      Ethernet^3     HDMI^2     XLR^2