IGNORED

Squeezebox Touch vs. Apple

OK...even though I've been streaming music for about 6 years, and now stream everything under the sun...I cut my teeth on SBs and that's all I've ever used in my 2-channel system.

I currently have a Touch, and even though it gets good reviews and generally positive marks, I'm curious how much "better" the Apple-based servers might be. I'm no stranger to the Mac Mini as music server, as it seems that when the audiophilia consensus jumped on board the streaming bandwagon...with both feet...the Mac Mini was the set-up du jour. I always thought it was because crusty old men, who'd resisted for so long, were seduced by the simplicity of iTunes. But for someone like myself...who'd been ripping and streaming for years, and has always been taught that iTunes was in fact a terrible ripper...it seemed like a choice based on convenience, not necessarily quality.

Now I'm not so sure. I know some, who run it in conjunction with programs like Pure Music, and I have to admit; those things that a full-fledged computer allow, are pretty tempting. I always thought the argument against Mac and any computer-based system...as source...was the need for a monitor to navigate. I don't like the idea, but of course...for a while now...I'm sure the Apple based systems are easily run headless, with an iSomething (pad, phone, pod) as remote.

My faith has been shaken even more, to recently discover there are all kinds of "hacks" for the SBT, supposedly to "unleash" it from stiffled SQ. Things like the volume control and display, affect the SQ...and these hacks can bypass and disable them? So now I'm wondering if maybe it isn't the time to try and see how the other side lives?