IGNORED

Thinking of mating an Aries to a Lampizator. Good idea?

Well, I am a newbie, in more ways than one, and it'd be great if I could introduce myself with some sort of a more meaningful first post, but I feel I must instead ask for some advice before anything else.

Let me digress:

I have followed a somewhat "backwards evolution" trail in my audio system, as I first invested in my speakers and amp and left the front end for later.

After a bit of trial and error and also being the tube nut that I am, I decided to follow my gut and order a Lampizator Level 4 DAC, which will be here mid-May (crossing my fingers...).

All I need to do now is figure out how to set up a decent music server system.

In this light, I have come across an Auralic Aries at a very attractive price and I'm seriously considering it.

Although I'd prefer the Aries to be Android compatible and use local storage, I think that I can live with what is offered right now.

Moreover, although I am used to JRiver, I do have a well organised library, so I don't anticipate any problems, as far as Lightning DS is concerned.

Do you think I am missing something?

No, you aren't missing anything, and Auralic recently announced that the Android version will be introduced in Mid May:

http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f8-general-forum/auralics-next-big-thing-24173/

Main listening (small home office):

Main setup: Surge protector +>Isol-8 Mini sub Axis Power Strip/Isolation>QuietPC Low Noise Server>Roon (Audiolense DRC)>Stack Audio Link II>Kii Control>Kii Three (on their own electric circuit) >GIK Room Treatments.

Secondary Path: Server with Audiolense RC>RPi4 or analog>Cayin iDAC6 MKII (tube mode) (XLR)>Kii Three BXT

Bedroom: SBTouch to Cambridge Soundworks Desktop Setup.
Living Room/Kitchen: Ropieee (RPi3b+ with touchscreen) + Schiit Modi3E to a pair of Morel Hogtalare. 

All absolute statements about audio are false :)