IGNORED

synology dual lan question

I am trying to sort out my new setup with synology ds214+. I plan on connecting to my Aries via Ethernet from the nas, leaving one open port. can I plug a patch cable from my switch into the open port and have this nas available on my network? if not, how can I do both direct connection to Aries and rest of my network?

I am not an expert on this and have never tried a direction ethernet connection between the Synology NAS and the Aries. Mine is setup with Synology NAS connected to router, and accessed by the Aries via wireless ( I have also had the Aries connected via ethernet and didn't hear any difference versus the wired connection ).

I don't know whether the Aries will see the NAS if it is not first connected to your network ( router/switch ). Please let us know if it does.

I believe the intent of dual LAN ports on the Synology NAS was for link aggregation ( to increase throughput ) this of course requires a switch that support link aggregation.

FWIW.

Silver Circle Audio | Roon | Devialet | Synology | Vivid Audio | Stillpoint Aperture | Auralic | DH Labs

You can bridge the network using a Synology ... but if you are having to ask here (rather than just searching google for the answer) ... I would respectfully suggest that you do not have the knowledge to do it and support it if/when you have a problem.

This is not a supported option on Sinology os (iirc)

See -- http://www.computeraudiophile.com/f7-disk-storage-music-library-storage/has-anyone-tried-bridge-two-ethernet-ports-dual-port-network-attached-storage-22283/ for a similar question thought I'm unsure what the outcome was.

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.