IGNORED

What is the best interface for Mac Computer to DAC? USB, FireWire, or Optical Out?

Just purchased a Mac Computer and want to know how to obtain the best audio sound for the buck. Do you get the best sound using USB, FireWire or Optical out from the computer to the DAC? My DAC has a coaxial in and optical in. If USB or FireWire out is recommended what converter would you recommend (like pay no more than $500 for interface)?

I am new to the world of computer audio and your help is greatly appreciated.

I too have the same question. I currently have a Sonos system set up to provide distributed audio in my home, and was thinking about adding a Sonos unit to access my Mac for music files, and output them via TOSlink optical to a DAC. The question I have is whether or not there is a weak link in this system? Does the Mac output the files to the Sonos in their native resolution (eg. Apple lossless, AIFF, FLAC, or HD if you have it), or does the sound processor in the Mac get involved and alter the file in some way that degrades its information?

....firewire is unfortunately dying:(

USB is winning the war due to sheer numbers. Intel invented USB as a replacement to PS/2 and dropped it on all their motherboards. It ubiquitousness was inevitable. You can have a great USB DAC, but it must be accompanied by a great USB cable;) Firewire doesn't have that issue.

With a great Firewire DAC, like the Weiss products, you only need a decent firewire cable, approximately $50 or less in value, to get the best out of the DAC.

Optical is OK. It can output bit perfect data, and only goes up to 24/96. The problem is jitter. If you add a jitter cleaning device into your audio chain, this issue becomes moot. The best known jitter devices are the Empirical Audio pace car and the Genesis Digital Lens.