IGNORED

Experimental Verification of Bit Perfect Music Server

ksamnic

Can anyone point me to the results of an actual test of the output from audio servers. IE: a test that captures the bits that come out of the servers and compares them to the original CD, and measures any jitter introduced by the interface choice.

Why?

I keep reading a large number of postings on this site (and others) about cards like Lynx (for example) being bit perfect and great and sounding better than a cheap on-board spdif or usb output (w/o a sound card).

My feeling (and I am new to all of this) is that if two digital output streams sound different (through the same external DAC and subsequent audio components), then one (or both) of the audio bit streams has been corrupted on the path from the file to the dac.

My instincts tell me that the less components in the path from wav file to bits going into my dac, the better.

I have the same question for cables. I figure that digital cables either work (get the bits there) or they don't (they lose or change bits).

Anyway, I am just looking for any links to actual scientific studies (I tried searching the forums here first but could not find anything quantitative - just opinions).

Hi ksamnic - You'll never get a single answer to your questions surrounding these topics. Some of this stuff is incredibly technical and many engineers cannot even agree on reasons why or why not. I'm certainly no expert but will offer some opinions based on my own research and talking to real experts in the field.