IGNORED

HQPlayer will not run

zkeller

I am trying to run HQPlayer on Windows. I downloaded and installed it successfully. But when I run it, the cursor circles a few times and then nothing more. 

I have tried resetting, I have uninstalled and reinstalled, I have tried installing without the Client as I plan to use Roon in any case.

Any suggestions? I am a programmer, so can do some technical debugging.

Thanks for the help,

Zane

Zane

If I understood it correctly, HQP is failing to open, not to play any songs. I assume you are on a "standard" install of windows 10/11 (without any audiophile optimization that kills process etc). Is that right?

If so, you could try downloading a previous version. Just substitute the version number on the download link for 4.14.0, and see if it launches. 

You could also try booting HQPlayer embedded from a USB stick. Should it work, it would definitely isolate the problem to windows. 

The HQP window doesn't even show. I am running on standard Windows 10 Pro 21H2. Only Roon installed that may affect processes as far as I know.

How do you download an earlier version? I tried 4.15.0 but it doesn't work. I would like to try a version that is quite a bit older.

BTW - the client does run although there is not much I can do with it without the Desktop. 

Zane

On 12/17/2021 at 5:43 PM, jvvita said:

If I understood it correctly, HQP is failing to open, not to play any songs. I assume you are on a "standard" install of windows 10/11 (without any audiophile optimization that kills process etc). Is that right?

If so, you could try downloading a previous version. Just substitute the version number on the download link for 4.14.0, and see if it launches. 

You could also try booting HQPlayer embedded from a USB stick. Should it work, it would definitely isolate the problem to windows. 

@jvvita or @Miska what link should I use to get an earlier version?

Thanks for your help

Zane

13 hours ago, bogi said: