IGNORED

Could Really Use Some Help With First Time Room Treatments

As the title says, I'm completely new to room treatments but I want to at least make an attempt to try to optimize things now that I have my system nailed down. For starters, a sound technician from the audio dealer where I just purchased my new speakers from came out to set them up in my room. He has significant training in this (and specifically associated with their two top speaker lines), and literally spent nearly two hours before he felt they were properly optimized, and we both agreed.

He then spent some time specifically identifying what I should ideally do in terms of sound treatments for my particular room. He focused on three things. A significant portion of the wall behind my speakers (they are about 28 inches from the wall) is taken up by a roughly seven foot by five foot window. He said that dealing with that was most critical. He suggested curtains, which are not workable (long story). I'm temporarily dealing with it by using a black bed sheet taped to the wall above the window with Gorilla tape. Your creative suggestions for a cheap means of dealing with the issue "only" when I am listening to music would be appreciated.

Secondly, he targeted doing something about the bare wall the speakers are projecting sound at, immediately (as in your head nearly rests on it) behind the seated listening position. This is a ten foot wall, which, to the left of the seating position opens up into another room and stairway. I am initially looking at dealing with that by purchasing a six foot wide by four foot high acoustic panel placed behind the listening position. Is that the right thing to do?