IGNORED

The trouble with computers

jostp

I'm an engineer, I'm an IT-er, I like computers, and I'm an audiophile (some would say I have a typical 'audiophile profile').

I really admire, and enjoy, how the guys from Roon have brought the listening experience to a whole new level.

But yesterday, my Roon suddenly didn't want to launch. That was a few days after my mac mini at start-up came up with the 'Core Telephony error'. Roon tells on their support forum that it is an Apple problem, and I understand them. Apple on their side is dead silent about it. On the internet one can find, as usual, about a dozen possible solutions ('suggestions'). It's hardly 2 months after I solved a fickle wifi problem (probably, so far).

That's the problem with computers and audio: you're eternally in a

Johan

I was forced into computer audio and I don't even find it more convenient than CDs because I don't stream nor buy downloads.

This summer I moved to a new home and I can't get my router to work which means that the NAS is no longer accessible by Wi-Fi and I had to resort to a USB HDD which has to sit on the floor...

I've also had a Mac OS update related problem once which left me music'less for a week or so.

And I also dislike the fact that there is still a bit of uncharted territory which has its impact in the cost of running a file reading and converting system...

R

"Science draws the wave, poetry fills it with water" Teixeira de Pascoaes

HQPlayer Desktop / Mac mini → Intona 7054 → RME ADI-2 DAC FS (DSD256)

Whether it be computers or components, each can fail in there own right, over time. At least computers are more flexible on the software and hardware side. It can be a boon or vain. To maintain a PC that is doing audio well to your liking, it behooves one to freeze all software settings, no updates. If you want to experiment with new updates, do it on a separate partitioned OS.