IGNORED

Starting from Scratch

Ajax

I'm about to embark on the refurbishment of my home and have sufficient space for a dedicated music room.

I would greatly appreciate advise from CA members on how they would tackle such a project. I'm more interested in people's views on the overall design philosophy, and what they see as the priorities how they would go about implementing them, rather than suggestions on individual pieces of equipment.

I already have a Devialet 200 + ATOHM speakers and I am currently investigating adding 2 x SVS SB 2000 subs. I will no doubt install a basic home theatre processor such as an Emotiva XMC-1 (with audio by-pass) but my priority will definitely be music - say 80:20.

I've read a lot including Jim Smith's "Get Better Sound" and have already formed some ideas but I don't wish to disclose them as I don't want to influence others thoughts in any way. I'm also reluctant to nominate a budget as I don't want to put a cap on ideas - I'm a civil engineer and have a lot of on site building experience implementing Architects' designs while endeavouring to minimise the expense.

The room dimensions are 4.1m (13.5') x 4.6m (15') x 3m (10') high and there will be 2 timber framed / plasterboard lined internal walls and two stone external walls also lined with plasterboard, one of which will have french doors leading onto a courtyard.

Thanks in advance,

Ajax

LOUNGE: Mac Mini - Audirvana - Devialet 200 - ATOHM GT1 Speakers

OFFICE : Mac Mini - Audirvana - Benchmark DAC1HDR - ADAM A7 Active Monitors

TRAVEL : MacBook Air - Dragonfly V1.2 DAC - Sennheiser HD 650

BEACH : iPhone 6 - HRT iStreamer DAC - Akimate Micro + powered speakers

One of the first thing I'd recommend is getting some company to do some acoustic measurements in the room and invest in some acoustic treatment, abortion panels, scatter panels, bas traps etcetera.

In a room that size speakers that were designed to be placed against or very near a wall would also be good.