IGNORED

low, mid, high price microphones for DIRAC & what their effect to the end result

Hi, I read in DIRAC website there are 3 recommended microphone for DIRAC:

1. miniDSP UMIK-1 microphone around $75

2. XTZ Microphone Pro around &170

3. Earthworks M23 around $459 + Phantom Power?

My question is, if DIRAC is used for 2 channel audio system and 5.1 HT, using those 3 microphones, would the sound quality end result (after being optimized by DIRAC) be quite different? Or the result will be the same since all the microphones are calibrated?

If there will be a difference in sound, what one should expect by using affordable UMIK-1, medium price XTZ and expensive M23?

As a newbie I don't mind invest in M23 but only If the end result would be significantly better than say the UMIK-1.

I really appreciated if someone would explain to me in layman term and surely hoping to hear from someone who has tried those 3 microphones.

Other brand and type suggestion as additional option are also welcome and needed.

Thanks and Cheers,

Narukama

I don't think you will find much difference if you are only using the microphone to make a measurement file for DIRAC. I asked 2 companies that sell different mics about the UMIK, and they both seemed to think it was more that adequate for the purpose.

I used to have a TACT RCS preamp, and used the stock mic and an expensive measuring mic. Didn't really think it made much difference.

Main listening (small home office):

Main setup: Surge protectors +>Isol-8 Mini sub Axis Power Strip/Protection>QuietPC Low Noise Server>Roon (Audiolense DRC)>Stack Audio Link II>Kii Control>Kii Three BXT (on their own electric circuit) >GIK Room Treatments.

Secondary Path: Server with Audiolense RC>RPi4 or analog>Cayin iDAC6 MKII (tube mode) (XLR)>Kii Three BXT

Bedroom: SBTouch to Cambridge Soundworks Desktop Setup.
Living Room/Kitchen: Ropieee (RPi3b+ with touchscreen) + Schiit Modi3E to a pair of Morel Hogtalare.