IGNORED

Right way to compare 16/44 and 24/96?

Ok, I just purchased and downloaded an enjoyable classical selection from the Linn download site at 24/196. (It is Susanna Yoko Henkel with Tchaikovsky violin concerto if it matters -- passionate playing and laser accurate pitch on a fretless instrument - what more could a guy ask for?)

So far I've just listened to the original 24/196 downloaded file downsampled on the fly by Audirvana into my 24/96 capable USB DAC. (I don't have any connection that would let me pipe it in there at 24/196)

I'm new to this Hi-Res stuff, and want to take a stab at learning the difference in sound between 16/44 and 24/96...but I want to make sure I'm not fooling myself by doing it wrong.

So finally getting to my question...how best to down-res this file into the two formats given the equipment in my sig and not spending any money for additional hardware or software?

Would creating a 16/44 and a 24/96 version of this using "Max" provide a reasonable basis for some non-scientific a-b comparison? Any settings I need to be careful of to avoid fooling myself?

And finally, if the difference isn't immediately apparent to me, what should I listen for to train myself to hear the difference?

thanks,

jp

New guy here - old guy elsewhere...Mac Mini - BitPerfect - USB - Schiit Bifrost DAC - shit cable - Musical Fidelity A3.5 - home-brew speakers designed to prioritize phase and time response (Accuton ceramic dome drivers and first-order crossovers) and a very cheaply but well corrected room...old head, old ears, conventionally connected to an old brain with outdated software.

"It’s easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." -- Mark Twain

"...how best to down-res this file...?"

Hi JP - Don't do it.