IGNORED

Entry-level DAC with Chromecast built in?

I'm new to the audiophile hardware world. I have a 20-year-old pairing of a NAD receiver and KEF speakers that I like a lot.  I'd like to cast Primephonic hi-res music from my phone to my receiver. Is there an entry-level DAC with Chromecast built in? 

I know about Chromecast Audio, but it tops out at 24/96.  Many of the Primephonic tracks are 24/192.  From an OCD standpoint, I would also like the idea of a DAC with lights to indicate the stream quality.

I realize that I might not hear the difference between 24/96 and 24/192 on my speakers, but I listen a lot on headphones (HiFiMan 400i 2020) and would like my receiver to deliver 24/192 sound to my headphones. 

Yes, Chromecast maxes out at 24/96. But I bet that this will not matter on an entry level DAC. Therefore, I would suggest you get the best DAC you can get for whatever your budget is and connect a used Chromecast Audio (eBay 25 €) via Tosslink. This way you will have a much wider choice of DACs, including used gear.

Or if convenience is important, check out NAD C338 hybrid  integrated amp (DAC & Chromecast built in): https://darko.audio/2020/09/nad-c-338-review-or-why-you-should-care-about-chromecast-built-in/

Best of luck.

Stick with the gear you have, NAD has switched to Class D instead of class AB amplifiers. A chord Mojo will drive your Hifiman headphones using

a CCK adaptor for micro USB cable to iPhone for best SQ. Add an Audioquest RCA cable adaptor if you have good interconnects you want to run to the amplifier. Only limit for the mojo is 256 DSD.

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

@RedDogCo I read up on the CCA and found that it won't pass 24/192 music to a DAC, even with its TOSLINK optical link. The highest quality it will pass is 24/96. That's probably good enough for my ears, but I'm wondering if there is a DAC that can natively accept a Chromecast connection and provide 24/192 quality.