IGNORED

Verify Bit Perfect Playback iTunes9 OS X 10.6?

doubleij

Can anyone verify that iTunes 9 outputs bit perfect audio on Snow Leopard? I tried to test with a DTS file, but iTunes doesn't have the codecs for DTS so I don't know one way or the other.

I've disabled Equalizer, Sound Enhance and Sound Check in iTunes. I've set the MIDI in utilities to 44/16 since that matches the quality of lossless audio in my library. My library is currently in FLAC format, but I am thinking of using XLD to convert to ALAC losslessly, managing and playing the library through iTunes.

I'm also willing to play the FLAC files directly through Cog or another player, if Cog or another player offers bit-perfect output.

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm a mac newbie.

• 1 month later...

Hi doubleij,

In my experience, "bit perfect" and FLAC are different subjects.

While expanding a FLAC in an off-line process can be shown to create a result that is a "bit perfect" match to the original, uncompressed AIF or WAV, performing the process in real-time, i.e. while listening, exacts a sonic price.

I recently ran some blind comparisons using some high res material, Redbook material as well as some original 24/192 and 24/96 recordings I made myself. Using encoders in different applications I have and trying different settings for the FLAC, I and some listening partners compared the results with the originals. In every case, it took only a few seconds for everyone to hear the subtle but easily audible hardening and brightening in the FLAC when compared directly against the uncompressed files.

Upon further reflection, I don't really find this surprising. In my experience, no non-linear coded audio format is going to sound as good as LPCM in direct real-time playback comparisons. Even with lossless, the audio data is yet another step removed from the audio clock.