IGNORED

Just set-up my first dedicated 2 channel system. Now questions.

I just setup my first dedicated 2 channel stereo and am currently using a Gateway laptop running Windows 7 along with JRiver Media Center, I'm still on my free trial, I already tried Foobar2000 but prefer Jriver. Im thinking of getting a Mac Mini (8GB memory 1TB HD) in the near future. I already have an iPhone, iPad and a Mac. Was looking for set-up assistant on the Mac Mini, I assume I could use my other iOS devices to control with out a monitor but i have no experience with the mini. I would also like to know if I should stick with JRiver (buying the license) or am I better off using something that works with iTunes but processes the audio instead for bit-perfect playback. My digital music files are ALAC, FLAC, DSD.

My system is:

Marantz PM8004

Oppo BDP-105D

Music Hall MMF 5.1

iFI iPhono

Pioneer SP-BS22LR

Gateway PC running W7 w/JRiver Media Center

Marantz PM8004

Oppo BDP-105D

Music Hall MMF 5.1

iFi iPhono

Pioneer SP-BS22LR

Gateway PC W10 JRiver Media Center

Put jriver on the pc or the Mac. There is a version for both. The Mac is probably more powerful (depends on the laptop) and probably is the better choice. But the laptop has built in keyboard and monitor which can be useful.

Having said that, once things are set up you should not need a keyboard or a monitor so the issue is usually moot

Set jriver to automatically boot when pc or Mac has to be rebooted.

Put jremote on the iPad. Will control the pc or the Mac.

Control jriver with the iPad from your chair.

I believe you can set the oppo up as a DAC and just run jriver through it.

Get your favorite beverage, sit down and enjoy.

Repeat

Put jriver on the pc or the Mac. There is a version for both. The Mac is probably more powerful (depends on the laptop) and probably is the better choice. But the laptop has built in keyboard and monitor which can be useful.