IGNORED

Legal and ethical questions regarding the ripping, storage, donation, resale, etc., of CDs

Since at least two threads have devolved into discussions about the legality and ethics of CD ripping, etc., I would like to suggest

(a) we move the discussion here, so as not to derail other threads,

(b) push the reset button, and keep it to civil discourse

© if you offer legal advise or interpretations, please briefly describe your expertise (i.e., I am a layman, I am an RIAA attorney, etc).

(d) Assume that no one here is evil, wants to commit unambiguously criminal or immoral acts, condones illegal behavior, etc., unless they want to explicitly assert that themselves.

If you made a useful point elsewhere (i.e., about the facts of a relevant ruling, or the letter of the law, say), please feel free to cut and paste it (with the proper copyright restrictions in place).

So, some questions that came up were and are:

1. Is it legal or ethical or a copyright infringement for me to rip my CDs onto my computer hard drive, make private copies as backups or CDs for my car, stream the music over my local network, share it over my local network via iTunes, etc.?

2. Is it legal or ethical or a copyright infringement for me to rip a CD I got from the library if I (a) delete it before I return it, (b) delete it after I return it, © don't delete it?

3. Is it legal or ethical or a copyright infringement for me to buy a new CD, rip it, and then (a) sell it, or (b) donate it, but keep the rip?

4. Is it legal or a copyright infringement to sing "Happy Birthday" in a public place without getting permission or paying royalties?

As all of these involve IP questions I don't understand your distinction between "legal" and "copyright infringement." The legality of each is determined by whether there is infringement. That is, it is the same question.