IGNORED

Total Newbie needs help with husband's gigantic CD collection

Hello. Please forgive me if this topic's been posted somewhere else. I've browsed the internet until it feels my eyes will bug out, but I haven't been able to find simple answers that I, the audio clueless, can understand.

Here's the situation:

Husband has a huge CD collection - roughly 1,400 CDs that he's collected over the years. Initially he had 10 CD changers (each capable of holding 100 CDs) daisy-chained together on the top of his office cabinets. He had them plugged into a receiver of some sort and had 2 speakers also attached to this receiver.

In trying to help him better manage the collection (since he had trouble remembering which CDs were on which changers), we started trying to get them into itunes. After loading 11,000 songs, we of course found that they wouldn't all fit on one ipod. So he has 2 ipods - we've listed what genre of songs are on which ipods. He puts the ipod into a Bose ipod speaker. The problems - he still can't see his entire collection AND some of the songs he's played have blips or skips. I'm guessing that in the process of ripping them to the iMac some may have had scratches, etc. I also have to tell you he is a true audiophile - he has such a discerning ear that there is NO WAY I can use the compressed formats.

Now that the cost for external hard-drives has come down, I bought him a 3T hard drive and am starting over from scratch, ripping each CD into iTunes using AIFF and the "check for errors" so it's slow going. The entire iTunes library is on the external hard drive which is plugged into our home iMac before we log into his user name. I started this around Christmas and have gotten 643 CDs loaded so far, so I've got a little while to get the next step figured out and this is where I need your help please!!