IGNORED

Timing error/jitter reduction

Folks:

I'm new to computer audio and I'm trying to understand how to control (reduce) jitter between the computer and the DAC.

I'm using a Mac (iMac, PowerBook, Air) and so I have USB out or mini-TOSLINK (for the iMac and PowerBook). My understanding is that USB output is better than the TOSLINK (certainly willing to hear discussion on either side of this) so I am assuming USB out from the computer for now.

Given that timing issues (i.e., jitter) are the most serious compromise to quality audio, I've heard that some kind of "USB converter" (implementations vary apparently) reclocks (retimes?) the data coming out of computer before it gets to the DAC. Apparently "asynchronous" is not a panacea sufficient to address the jitter issue but it is not clear to me whether this is a damnation of ALL asynchronous implementations or only some... Some DACs also claim to deal with the jitter problem but apparently some (even high end DACs) have implemented a canned USB solution that doesn't deal with jitter through the USB input.

As a beginner, I do not have the experience to be able to parse the various perspectives on jitter, so I'm asking for some insight from those of you with experience. Also as a beginner (as opposed to a cutting edge adopter) I am trying to understand what is going on with digital audio rather than seeking an immediate state-of-the-art solution. Cost is a consideration but I am much more interested at this point in understanding the logic and implications of one solution over another for jitter reduction.

My questions include:

1. What are "USB converter"s that re-clock the data? I don't know if this is another box or an implementation strategy or...

2. Are there "asynchronous" solutions (e.g., MF V-LINK) that effectively address jitter?

3. Are there DACs which effectively address jitter?

An example or two would be helpful accompanied by an explanation for HOW the jitter is reduced.

Thanks.