IGNORED

Best Sounding option for a Streamer without a built-in DAC?

Hello,

I am new to the world of streamers and have experimented with a Raspberry Pi and several OSs, currently using Moode OS, Streaming qobuz and using an iPhone with jPlay as the remote control, into a Ferrum Wandla+Oor.

This is unsatisfying, because I can't really manipulate my qobuz library that way, make playlists, add new favorites, and I'm paying a 52€/year subscription for a remote.
As far as I understand, I have 2 options:

1. Get a "real" streaming device, it runs qobuz natively and can be remote controlled via their own app, which can hopefully also manipulate the qobuz library like the native app can?

2. Get a Mac Mini as a Roon Core, plug it in and use the various Roon apps as remote controls, which can manipulate the qobuz library or at least have their own system of creating playlists, providing recommendations etc.

Please correct me if this is wrong already. Assuming it is mostly correct:

Will I get any benefits in sound if I'm using an external DAC, in this case the Wandla, if I use a high end streamer? Information out there is conflicting, but leaning towards it making a difference.

A Roon core with HQPlayer should sound amazing though, and getting a Mac Mini plus HQplayer would not break the bank.

What do you recommend?

Cheers,
Andy

3 hours ago, Wagninger said:

This is unsatisfying, because I can't really manipulate my qobuz library that way, make playlists, add new favorites,

You can actually add favorites (tracks or albums) and create playlists in JPlay for iOS 

tap on the heart icon to make the album a favorite 

IMG_2904.thumb.jpeg.6b0a3b5fa55cc92dd8d0a057fd444f7b.jpeg.

or tap on the three dots icon on the right of a track and then make it a favorite or add it to a playlist 

IMG_2905.thumb.jpeg.23d060568beaffbd19707f99f21e9590.jpeg.

and you can add the whole play queue to a playlist tapping on the three dots icon in the upper right corner