IGNORED

Basic Infrastructure Questions

I'm a digital newbie and trying to build some infrastructure to feed a streamer.  I have my cable modem (Comcast) in an office about 50-60ft from my equipment rack.  I want to run a couple of ethernet cables in the crawl space from the office to the rack.  I have a generic switch in the office.  On the rack side, my plan would be to install an EtherREGEN (or similar) and then feed an Aurender streamer that would be about 10ft from the EtherREGEN.  My question is should I run a generic CAT6 cable under the house or some kind of optical cable?  I was planning to use pre-terminated cable and was told to stay away from the shielded terminated to metal in the connectors as that can transmit noise from the source equipment.  What would be the ideal setup for this application?  Should I use Cat6 or fiber for the 60 ft run?  Any pre-terminated cable recommendations?  I could probably make 50ft work.

Thanks

@Delkat I have runs of ethernet and fiber across a 35' run/down a level. You will find proponents of each: copper and fiber.

I am in an urban environment with a lot of commercial and residential wifi and rf sources, so I have preferred the fiber.

In fact, I have FTTH and audio on a dedicated fiber line. I have about 2-3 feet of copper in my network.

Either option would work. If you're doing the pull, and it fits the budget...why not pull both? Fiber is pretty cheap. I actually pulled single-mode and double-mode fiber, Cat6 and a high-zoot cryo-ed/unshielded ethernet so I could test. 

Metal connectors should be OK but not if connected to a shielded cable that then ties all your devices together, potentially creating issues. Floating shield or no shield also has it fans.

If you search, there are threads on the fiber support, if you run into issues. Compatibility likely being the main one: Fiber wavelength and SFPs at either end need to be consistent in wavelength/type. Good Luck!