IGNORED

Is decrapification good enough for quality over USB?

Trying to pick a Streamer/Network player for my Mytek DAC+ and Im just too new to this and have too many un-sures even after spending an unhealthy time on Youtube.

Could even a Nvida Shield into a decrapificer then Mytek DAC sound great (or damn close) via USB (all power supplies and cables are high quality)? 

Ive considered the Bluesound Node2, Elac Discovery, or even a Raspberry Pi build (got a few lying around)

Trying to understand if a decrapificer can get 85+% USB audio to where a $1k streamer would be and I have zero experience.

Thanks..

to save you some time: most of decrapfiers decrapify nothing, or just add crap. Look at audiosciencereview . the best I'm aware of is the sotm ultra usb, but the thing + power supply  costs as your DAC, and just to gain a bit.  

I wouldn't put my money into that. If your DAC needs an usb decrapfier probably is because is very old or is faulty.  Mytek DAC+ is neither of that. As for the streamers, if you don't need them, a PC is impossible to beat as  for sofware options and upsampling capability.  

Continuing with your thread title. Most of the audiophile hardware is crap.   Imagine what can be the band-aids for that crap.  Your washing machine, your tv, your remote control,  your shaver, your coffee grinder cost much less and will keep working much longer than most of audiophile hardwere.  Why pay for that?. 

one thing that seems to have (more or less) universal agreement is that you need to make sure you minimize (non-musical) noise from your signal chain.  there are a lot of ways to do that (which you'll see on many threads), but high quality power supplies seem to be always a part of good solutions.

to that end, if you've got a mytek dac, i'd try to have my upstream components be a noise-free as possible.  i wouldn't do the nvidia shield and then add stuff after it -- better to get it right from the start.