IGNORED

HD vs. Redbook

If an Buddy Guy's "Stone Crazy was recorded in the 1981 using analog (redbook standards), how can it be HD 24/96? Will the HD version of the this cd sound better in HD vs the redbook recording? I was always under the impression that it needed to be recorded at 24/96 to get the extra quality sound out of it.

Can you guess I am new at this?!

Tim

\"A prudent question is one-half of wisdom.\"[br] -Francis Bacon

Hi Tim - Good question and one that is discussed in the Podcast I linked to in the HD article on the front page. It's worth a listen if you haven't already.

There is no such thing as "analog (redbook standards)." Redbook is a womens magazine. Just kidding I'm sure you're referring to the digital Compact Disc standard and the 16/44.1 sample rate that's associated with the standard.

If this recording was originally done in the analog domain I see no problem with calling a 24/96 version of it high resolution. Of course there is a bit of a debate about what actually is high resolution and if a performance must be captured in that resolution to be considered high res.

The major issue to look out for is the origination of the 24/96 files. If they are 16/44.1 upsampled to 24/96 than there is a problem no matter who is giving an opinion.

Hopefully I didn't confuse you even more with this rather discombobulated post.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

Second, analog recording is not redbook. Redbook is a digital standard for cd (16/44). (OOps, Chris beat me to it on that point). So, just because something is listed in Chesky's HDTRacks does not make it HD. And to echo Chris, if its upsampled (according to Chesky brothers that never happens on HDTracks high def stuff) it ain't HiRez.

Guest WATERLOGIC

What counts most beside good music & performer(s) is the recording/mastering engineer talent.