IGNORED

Audio Alchemy DDP-1 and Ayre Codex Side by Side

I recently auditioned the Audio Alachemy DDP-1 with a pair of Devore Orangutang speakers over the weekend. The Orangutang's were both beautifully crafted and beautiful sounding speakers. I heard enough to bring the DDP-1 and PS-5 home. My system is more modest. I also auditioned an Ayre Codex for a side by side. I plugged the DDP-1 with PS-5 and Codex (back and forth at different times) into an Emotiva XPA-200 using balanced outs. I used a PC running JRiver with USB direct to each device. My speakers are B&W 803 Diamonds. I have had two methods for listening to my digital collection; through a Marantz AV7701 or an Oppo BDP-103. After recently getting back into vinyl I realized what I had been missing for many years. My turntable is a Pro-ject RPM3 with Simaudio Moon 110LP which I also tested through the DDP-1. More on that later.

The Marantz AV7701 uses anAKM AK4358VQ DAC while the BDP-103 uses a Cirrus Logic CS4382A 8ch, 24/192 DAC. I had already determined that to my ears the AKM sounded better (clearer, more defined, spatial). So this is what I used to compare the DDP-1 (AKM 4439) and Codex (ESS 9018K2M chip, same as in the Pono?). I have not previously compared DACs on my system other than between the Oppo and Marantz which I have owned a couple different models. I used three different songs with different bit depth and sample rates. So What from Kind of Blue at 192/24, Heart is a Drum from Morning Phase at 96/24 and House of Cards (and a little of Jigsaw Falling Into Place) from In Rainbows at 44/16.