IGNORED

FLAC Question

fastdart69

I apologize for this very basic question but I am relatively new to computer audio. Based on my research of computer audio on this and other sites I have decided to use FLAC as the file software for storing CD's and music downloads. Where is the best site to download FLAC software and which version should I download. I was just on the xiph.org website and there are more than 20 different versions on the download page with flac-1.3.1-win.zip and flac-1.3.1.tar.xz being the last two. I am currently using Windows Vista as my operating system but do plan to buy a new computer to use as a dedicated music server and will likely end up with Windows 10 as the operating system. I plan to use JRiver Media Media for playback and dbPoweramp as my CD ripping software. Thanks for your assistance.

I apologize for this very basic question but I am relatively new to computer audio. Based on my research of computer audio on this and other sites I have decided to use FLAC as the file software for storing CD's and music downloads. Where is the best site to download FLAC software and which version should I download. I was just on the xiph.org website and there are more than 20 different versions on the download page with flac-1.3.1-win.zip and flac-1.3.1.tar.xz being the last two. I am currently using Windows Vista as my operating system but do plan to buy a new computer to use as a dedicated music server and will likely end up with Windows 10 as the operating system. I plan to use JRiver Media Media for playback and dbPoweramp as my CD ripping software. Thanks for your assistance.

Why do you want to pay for JRiver Media Centre when Foobar2000 v1.3.8 is available gratis. I spent some time evaluating both and there isn't any difference in sound quality between them.

During that evaluation, I discovered the playlist data editor with UI columns and popup panels plugins installed in Foobar2000, is significantly more advanced than JRiver MC.