IGNORED

Just built my pc server - dead quiet as far as I am concerned!

Very excited about this. Just built my first pc and I cant hear it running at all! I am really excited about this. I am new to PC as a high end audio source and by biggest concern was the noise that I am used to hearing from computers - fan noise, hard drive, disk noise.

I didnt want ot spend the money on one of the pre built "silent pcs" so I used reviews from slientpcreview.com to select a case, heatsink, fan's etc and I have to say that the end result is as quiet as I could have hoped.

All the parts came from newegg and ended up being cheaper than the lynx card it was built to run.

I will post a parts list later unless that is aginst forum rules. I dont want to come across as selling anything. I am just excited.

Still a lot more tinkering to do to optimize media monkey. Then I will be able to to some a/b comparisons to sonos and my universal disk player.

But I guess the real good news for now is that a pc can be built for about $500 w/o sound card that I cant hear in my listening room.

Congratulations Jimmy!

Although you can't hear a peep out of your new computer, I bet it still keeps you up at night :)

I am very curious to hear all about your experiences. I discovered the silent pc site a few weeks ago. Perhaps your "report" might inspire some of us to try such an interesting and rewarding project.

Thanks

1 x ($79.99) CASE ANTEC|MINI P180 RT - Retail $79.99

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 x ($44.99) PSU PCPWR&COOLING|PPCS370X 370W RT - Retail $44.99

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 x ($7.99) CPU COOL ZALMAN|ZM-CS4A R - Retail $7.99

1 x ($57.99) HD 500G|WD SATA2 32M WD5000AADS - Retail $57.99

1 x ($50.49) MEM 2Gx2|GEIL GG24GB1066C6DC R - Retail $50.49

1 x ($74.99) MB GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H AM2+ RTL - Retail $74.99