IGNORED

What is Integer Mode on a MacBook

nemick

What is integer mode on a MacBook and how do I set it?

Neil M.

CA System 2013 i7 Mac Mini, JRiver, AQ Cinnamon, MF V Link 192, Teradak PS, DACiT, W4S STI 1000, Linn Ninka's

Main System (Analogue) LP12, Ittock, Klyde, Lingo 2, Kairn, Wavelength Duetto, AvanteGarde Uno's

Main System (Digital) CEC TL51, dCS Elgar, dCS Purcell, Wavelength Duetto, AvanteGarde Uno's

I am no expert but it is my understanding that Integer Mode sends the data in its native format to the DAC bypassing the Core Audio of the Mac. What I can say for certain is that using Integer Mode sounds excellent to me.

Regarding "turning it on" you will need to be running iTunes on your Mac with a third party playback software (I use Pure Music but there are others) which provides the Integer Mode function typically enabled in that softwares preferences. Additionally your Mac should be operating on OS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) as the new OS 10.7 (Lion) does not support Integer and your DAC must also support/accept Integer Mode.

"A mind is like a parachute. It doesn't work if it is not open."
Frank Zappa

Only a slight edit to what mwheelerk said - integer mode bypasses some of the processing done by Core Audio, but does not bypass it entirely. A much more detailed explanation is available at the following link:

http://www.amr-audio.co.uk/large_image/MAC%20OSX%20audio%20players%20&%20Integer%20Mode.pdf

One never knows, do one? - Fats Waller

The fairest thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the fundamental emotion which stands at the cradle of true art and true science. - Einstein

Computer, Audirvana -> optical Ethernet to Fitlet3 -> Fibbr Alpha Optical USB -> iFi NEO iDSD DAC -> Apollon Audio 1ET400A Mini (Purifi based) -> Vandersteen 3A Signature.