IGNORED

Balanced or not balanced . . .

HIFI

I have no experience with Balanced XLR connections in any home audio I have owned.

I am seeking a new Amp (mono block) and new pre amp.

What is the advantage of XLR Balanced connections?

Does mating of different brands become more/less important?

Thanks in advance.

My System TWO SPEAKERS AND A CHAIR

BALANCED

SO/ROON/HQPe: DSD 512-Sonore opticalModuleDeluxe-Signature Rendu optical with Well Tempered Clock--DIY DSC-2 DAC with SC Pure Clock--DIY Purifi Amplifier-Focus Audio FS888 speakers-JL E 112 sub-Nordost Tyr USB, DIY EventHorizon AC cables, Iconoclast XLR & speaker cables, Synergistic Purple Fuses, Spacetime system clarifiers.  ISOAcoustics Oreas footers.                                                       

SONORE computer audio

A small minority of expensive preamps have a fully balanced topology. However, most preamps are unbalanced designs with an extra phase inverter stage to produce the inverted signal required for the balanced output. If you buy the latter type of preamp, you may be better off with unbalanced because you'll eliminate one stage of amplification.

However, some people (like me) require balanced cables to overcome hum problems.

Other advantages of unbalanced: The cables usually are cheaper, and they are available with countless varieties of exotic RCA plugs if you are into that sort of thing. Balanced cables mostly use XLR connectors made by Neutrik.

HQPlayer (on 3.8 GHz 8-core i7 iMac 2020) > NAA (on 2012 Mac Mini i7) > RME ADI-2 v2 > Benchmark AHB-2 > Thiel 3.7

Bob, thanks for helping.

You use balance to overcome hum. I have not experienced hum in the unbalanced RCA connected systems I have owned.