IGNORED

Prism Orpheus - sorry, how to use?

Dear Community

My question may look a bit silly - I have to admit I am not a pro guy. Two years ago I started to use Weiss DAC2 directly feeding my poweramp, with PC and foobar as source (Windows XP).

The reason I am interested in Orpheus is because its range of capbility. I am planning to revive my old LP collection, and a pro guy told me to use 'flat response' preamp, and then after some search without knowing what he said, I have my eyeball fixed on Orpheus. I almost have bought two extra things - a phono preamp and a preamp for my MC cartridge. But it seems Orpheus would do all things for me - DAC, playing LPs, CDP (still have one), and even ripping LP.

The thing is as I am not a pro guy, after some exploration (and reading the manual), I still can't figure out exactly how I could use Orpheus to do the above things. I have listed my questions below, and hope some may help answer - and please understand I have been a 'consumer' type of audiophile but am willing to learn more how to operate the pro-Orpheus:

1. How could I play vinyls through Orpheus? I know I can plug in the turntable to the gear, but what is the signal path? Does the LP signal (analogue) go to Orpheus, being digitalized, and then being sent to its own DAC, and then transformed back to amplified analogue signal to the poweramp? What is the role of my PC here (it seems to me the PC doesn't have a role here)? Is the above path wrong? What is the correct path?

2. What is the signal path for digitalizing LPs? I know this question is related to 1. But as I can't figure out the signal path in 1., this question is more complicated for me.

3. How could I play CDs through the CDP? Again, what is the role of the PC here? Just controlling how Orpheus 'operates'? In this case - telling Orpheus how to input and output the CDP digital signals through the coaxial connecting my CDP to Orpheus?