IGNORED

Recommendation for a simple to use upnp/dlna media server app

dericchan1

Question

Hello, I am pretty new at this. I don't have too big of a digital library, maybe 1500-2000 albums in total, stored on an external ssd. I had tried as simple as installing minidlna/ReadyMedia (that does not provide too much library management), and jriver dlna media server (that seems to be pretty solid for library management), jellyfin..... They all seem to work pretty well. 

I wonder if there is anything else out there that offers a simple/better to setup / use solution?  I have seen others mentioned about minimserver and a couple others but wonder if that makes any differences to the sound quality...?

Thanks

Deric

13 answers to this question

I have a Wiim Pro Plus on LMS and use iPeng (Apple products...not sure if they do Android yet) and it is the Bomb...It works and sound great.  I am still using the internal DAC of the WiiM...

QNAP TS453Pro w/QLMS->Netgear Switch->Netgear RAX43 Router->Ethernet (50 ft)->Netgear switch->SBTouch ->SABAJ A10d->Linn Majik-IL (preamp)->Linn 2250->Linn Keilidh; Control Points: iPeng (iPad Air & iPhone); Also: Rega P3-24 w/ DV 10x5; OPPO 103; PC Playback: Foobar2000 & JRiver; Portable: iPhone 12 ProMax & Radio Paradise or NAS streaming; Sony NWZ ZX2 w/ PHA-3; SMSL IQ, Fiio Q5, iFi Nano iDSD BL; Garage: Edifier S1000DB Active Speakers  

I also use the iOS iPeng app as a controller, along with the browser-based LMS interface using the Material UI skin plug-in. I added a touchscreen display to two of the Pis too. I used to use (and still have) a Logitech Squeezbox as a streamer. The LMS and its ecosystem were open-sourced before Logitech acquired the original company (Slimserver). So all of the software that ran on the Squeezebox (both server and UI/player) now run on all kinds of devices, including piCorePlayer.