IGNORED

Speaker level input to subs and Dirac

A newbie here considering to use Dirac for the first time, f.i. with a MiniDSP SHD Studio with digital ins and outs and (an) external DAC(s).

The setup is 2.2 with TAD ME1 mains and KEF KC62 subs. For the latter I can choose between low (line) and high (speaker) level inputs.

Before I take the plunge:

I am pretty sure Dirac will work in this setup:

SHD Studio --> digital out 1 --> DAC1 --> preamp --> amp --> mains

SHD Studio --> digital out 2 --> DAC2 --> line into subs

However I am considering 

SHD Studio --> digital out 1 --> DAC1 --> preamp --> amp --> mains + speaker level into subs

The latter setup has the advantage of needing only one DAC, less connections and possibly better integration as the mains and subs are driven by the same amp (Reimyo KAP-777).

Will Dirac still work well in this setup? I would guess it will for frequency and EQ but no longer for timing corrections?

audio system

19 minutes ago, R1200CL said:

Something to think about:

Maybe you have a player that accepts convolution filter ?

No.

Do you own the SHD Studio already?

It is on order.

(Many set up examples in link above). 

TMI for this room correction/DSP newbie?

But I will take some time to read the thread...

audio system

2 hours ago, bodiebill said:

I am pretty sure Dirac will work in this setup:

SHD Studio --> digital out 1 --> DAC1 --> preamp --> amp --> mains

SHD Studio --> digital out 2 --> DAC2 --> line into subs

I agree 😀

Probably the best way. I expect the SHD acts as an active X over. 

2 hours ago, bodiebill said:

SHD Studio --> digital out 1 --> DAC1 --> preamp --> amp --> mains + speaker level into subs

That would open up for full SW solution like Audiolense and 65000 filter taps. And is how Mitch is describing room correction in his articles. Or if you DAC has both AES/EBU + RCA.