IGNORED

Best setup for MacBook Pro > AV receiver?

I'm new to high(er)-end digital audio - have been using iTunes for some time and have a rather large MP3 collection I've enjoyed very much - but have recently become intrigued by the possibilities of higher-quality audio. I found this excellent forum a couple of weeks ago, but haven't seen a post yet that succinctly answers my question.

Since purchasing a new MacBook Pro for my digital photography editing, I've converted my older (2006/2007-era) MBP to a music server housing my entire music collection (about 250gb at this point) and would like to use the best possible setup to stream this music to my Onkyo AV receiver (which has built-in 192/24 DACs).

Right now, I have an Airport Express (latest version) connected via GB Ethernet and optical out to the receiver. I'm using the Ayrewave software player and Airfoil to stream to the AE, but my understanding is I'm limited to 44.1/16 by the Airfoil / AE combo, and I'd like to be able to feed the highest possible quality into my receiver. Is there a combo that will let me:

* stream from my MBP > receiver via GB Ethernet (no need for wireless)

* accept the maximum possible output from my MBP (I believe the highest possible internal output on these is 96/24)

* get a higher output (possibly up to 192/24?) from my MBP

* transmit the stream unmolested to the receiver?

Appreciate any / all help.

John Walker - IT Executive

Headphone - SonicTransporter i9 running Roon Server > Netgear Orbi > Blue Jeans Cable Ethernet > mRendu Roon endpoint > Topping D90 > Topping A90d > Dan Clark Expanse / HiFiMan H6SE v2 / HiFiman Arya Stealth

Home Theater / Music -SonicTransporter i9 running Roon Server > Netgear Orbi > Blue Jeans Cable HDMI > Denon X3700h > Anthem Amp for front channels > Revel F208-based 5.2.4 Atmos speaker system

There is no wireless solution (for resonable cost) which meets your criteria.