IGNORED

Personal Audio with FM

I have been basking in my ideal personal audio setup for the past 2 years!  LG V20.  There's better portable audio out there somewhere, but with diminishing return.  The reason for my post is that the stunning FM tuner  ** not app **  was a deciding factor in choosing the V20.  About 10 days ago, I ventured into my den to transfer some new tunes to the V20, and Wi-Fi caught me.  3 or 4 involuntary updates.  End result:  change in graphics to the OEM FM radio tuner screen (OK), and - most critically - loss of stereo decoding. 

My reason for posting on this forum is in hope that this has happened to another subscriber and that they know the "fix".  I have spent hours Googling and chatting with numerous TMobile & LG support folk, all of whom are totally unaware the phones even have a tuner.  I have factory reset 4 times out of Wi-Fi range (either Android or TMobile update as soon as the reset is underway), but the FM still doesn't break into stereo.  Any tips or advice will be most gratefully appreciated !!  Like, even, an equivalent new device  .  .  .  .  .

Thanks, rando, I feel ya.  What I  ** REALLY **  want to hear from either TMob or LG was my likliest fear:  the entire cell industry is 'shorting out' the tuner circuit from now on so that all of us have to latch onto 4Gapps or Wi-Fi data for music.  I think I knew it was inevitable, but sound quality of my local stations over data channels pales in comparison to the tuner.  I'd reinstall my factory LG tuner app ifn's a friendly LG tech would just slip it my way.

I know of some V30s with working tuners I'd buy, but I'm afraid they'll get neutered involuntarily, too.

I am not familiar with that phone but have you tried rooting and/or Developer options (Not sure Developers is available for non-Pixel phones)?