IGNORED

Benchmark Dac1 Pre/USB or Peachtree Nova?

Hi,

Currently, I am primarily streaming digital files through a squeezebox duet into an unmodified Beresford T-7510 D/A, into a Rotel RX-1052 to a pair of Rainmaker Totems, and am looking to upgrade my DAC. I like the idea of having an integrated pre-amp/DAC for my phono and old cassette input analog input, but I might just get a tube pre-amp separately. I also like my rotel, although I am willing to part with it if the Nova integrated amp sounds better. Basically, I distrust the Nova integration and would like to use separate parts, but I like the ease and price point. The Dac1 is supposed to be tremendous but I don't know if it would work well with the Rotel and rainmakers.

Help?

Thank you!!!!!!!

Admittedly I am new to the game, but the Nova integration for me has been more an asset than a detriment. I hooked it up to B&W CM7 floor-standing speakers and it seems to cope well in a large room (my ears bleed by the time I turn the volume up to 2:00, with no distortion). However, you can just use the Nova's DAC and an analog line out to the RX-1052 if you need to (there is a second one after the pre-amp stage), but I would be inclined to do the opposite (have the RX-1052 feed its analogue into the Nova). In other words, I don't think there is much to distrust in the Nova, and the owners of Peachtree respond within minutes to my emails, so if they can address your concerns, it might be worth shooting them an inquiry. If 80W doesn't cut it, then I guess it isn't a good idea, but that is really the only thing that I can see, from my admittedly limited perspective, as a concern.

In either case it appears you'd want to ditch the Rotel, especially if you decided on the Nova. If your long-term goal is to have a tube pre-amp and a separate DAC you might be better off getting the Benchmark for now until you find a tube pre-amp that suits your style.