IGNORED

New Drobo FS

Just reading there is a new Drobo from Data Robotics.

The Drobo FS is a true NAS (directly network attached with Gigabit networking) with 5 drive bays allowing upto 9TB of storage. It also runs the Drobo Apps such as Fuppes UPnP server.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

• 3 weeks later...

Hey everyone - I'm new to the computer aspect of being an audiophile but have enjoyed the "high end" for sometime...

I saw the Drobo FS come out as well. Anyone have info if there will be issues using this NAS to stream from iTunes or similar front ends? I was reading a few posts about the drive only working "well" as a media server if the DroboApps (Firefly, etc)were used.

Any thoughts/insight would be greatly appreciated!

Using iTunes, it's probably best to just use the Drobo FS (or any NAS for that matter) as a pure file sharing device. Don't try using Firefly, etc.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

• 1 month later...

Hello,

Why do you think it's better not to use the Drobo FS in iTunes server mode?

do you know the way to open the same iTunes Library on 2 or more computers at the same time, assuming that the library is saved on the Drobo FS?

At the moment, if the library is opened on the iMac, I can't open it on the Mac Book ("you don't have permissions").

Thank you.

iTunes 9, MacBook w/ Snow Leopard, iMac w/ Leopard. Drobo FS.