IGNORED

Dirac Live on a Mac - DAP doesn't save preferred output - any workarounds?

I'm new to Dirac Live, and am really impressed with the results, even from the first default filter.

I know the software can do what I need it to - at least for now - and so was about to buy it.

But then I noticed what i consider a fatal flaw in my setup - whenever my DAC (Devialet 200) turns off, or it's input is changed, the DiracAP loses the output (Devialet USB 2.0), and doesn't reconnect when the Devialet's available. This makes it a real pain to use in general, but since I use a headless server, would mean VNC every time - not something I'm prepared to do myself let alone inflict on my family members who may want to listen at any time.

I had just assumed it would save a 'preferred output' or something, but I'm told this isn't the case.

I'm using OSX, with Roon as my main playback at the moment, so I can't even try to do it via VST/AU plugins (I hear there's a beta), as Roon doesn't have this ability.

So - putting all other Dirac related questions on hold incase this has stopped me in my tracks - has anyone got a workaround?

Roon lifetime > Mac Mini > ethernet > microRendu (RAAT) w/ Paul Hynes SR3 > Intona > Curious USB link > Devialet 250 Pro > PMC fact 8.

I Agree...I have exactly the same issue. I would love to know if there is. Workaround?

I had this same problem with my MacMini and Dirac under OSX and solved it (and other issues) by installing BootCamp and Win7. Not the solution most are looking for but works well for me.

Kal Rubinson

Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

I had this same problem with my MacMini and Dirac under OSX and solved it (and other issues) by installing BootCamp and Win7. Not the solution most are looking for but works well for me.

Thanks for that, that's a good suggestion - sadly for me a bit too extreme though as I need the Mac available for various reasons….