IGNORED

Asus RT-AC68R 802.11ac?

Anyone have any experience with this router? Being a novice, I'm not sure if this is exactly what I need.

I figure I might be able to do this: It has a USB 3.0, so I'll attach either a big thumb drive (to start), or maybe an external hard drive...maybe the Buffalo Drivestation? Not sure, but I'm thinking it would act as a budget NAS. I don't have anything that is equipped with 802.11ac, but maybe my galaxy S4. I was wondering if I put an adapter on if I would notice any difference in speed. The router has this download manger thingy, so I can close the laptop after I begin to DL content. Seems pretty neat to a beginner...

I'm thinking I would wire the Oppo 103 via Ethernet, but it doesn't accept Gigabit, so I was wondering if an adapter would work on that, or if it would make any difference. If I do this, will I have to use DLNA to play files on the Oppo, or would the data from either the thumb drive, or the Bufffalo Drive, feed to the Oppo? Maybe the faster connection would result in less buffering when I use DLNA. I just don't know and I was hoping to find some guidance from you good people.

Ultimately, I want to play hirez files gapless and with the best quality (of course) and use Jriver, or Gizmo, as the controller.

I wish I had a map! There's little to no youtube vids for direction. Pretty much anything nad everything I've learned about computer music has been right here the last month or so. I've learned a lot, but have a long way to go......

Thanks