IGNORED

Newcomer to Computer Audio question

Hello everyone, I am a relatively newbie to Computer based Audio having only this past February dumped the WMP in my XP based computer for the JRMC. And I have just upgraded my PC to a new Windows 7 64 bit based machine. The sound quality is much better now, but the OEM motherboard based Realtek soundcard is only 96/24 capable. Thus my question: Would getting one of the new small entry level DAC's be worth it? Almost all of then being USB based only output at 96/24, so would i hear an improvement? (my PC does not have a digital or S/pdif output) Any recommendations or thoughts would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!!

OK, thats seems good, but would buying hi-rez 192/24 download's be a waste of time if i cannot listen to it unless it is downsampled anyway?

There was an article a while back and subsequent debate on this forum on the merits of 192/24 downloads. Here's a link to the forum thread (a link to the article is in the first post as well).

If you purchase a USB DAC that is 96/24 capable, my first thought would be yes, it would not make much sense to purchase the 192/24 download. I think you could hear a good improvement over your PC's onboard audio. Part of the benefit of an external DAC (be it USB, SPDIF, or any other connection method) is performing that conversion outside of the "noisy" environment of a PC. For example, some onboard soundcards may have higher levels of "hiss" or background noise during playback versus the external DAC. An external DAC may also deliver objectively lower levels of jitter leading to higher quality playback.

For the cost of the entry level USB DACs like the HRT MusicStreamer II, JDSLabs ObjectiveDAC (ODAC) and others around $150, it is certainly worth a shot! If you haven't already, Chris has a comprehensive guide to setting up JRMC to help get bitperfect playback to your external DAC if you choose to get one.

Good luck!