IGNORED

RadioParadise.com - weirdly good SQ

No ads, very infrequent announcements and no jabbering.

During the past hour the playlist included:

The Staples Singers

PJ Harvey (w/ Thom Yorke)

Feist

Buena Vista Social Club

Portishead

Neil Young

Elvis Costello

Oi Va Voi

The Verve

Marvin Gaye

David Gray

Martha Wainwright

Pink Floyd

Radiohead

Also very intruigued by the 128k AAC sound quality (SQ).

OK, so mid- and top-end detail is not great but the separation, soundstage and stereo/3D imaging is flippin' extraordinary, nice chunky bass, too - even the Beatles sound good.

Anyone know the secret of Paradise's SQ?

I have been listening to RP for a couple of years now, I find it to be a phenomenal resource for learning about new music. The SQ is of secondary concern to me and I believe this is one of the best radio stations on the web. The station owner knows how to put together great playlists, perfect music to stream to the squeezebox while at work. I even stream it to my iphone with their app.

They probably just take care with their equipment. Many don't.

For example, here on the south coast of the UK we had an FM station called 'Coast'. Its sound quality was absolutely superb, the best of any FM station I have ever heard. Not just a little, but outstandingly so. Then it changed hands....

Classic FM has had a persistent rattling sound, as though something is loose, on its left channel for over two years. It comes and goes, presumably depending on which studio they happen to be using. They must know, they don't care so long as their advertising income does not fall.

To my ear Radio Paradise sounds better on their 128K than BBC Radio Three does at 320K.

But I do tend to listen to Radio Three via some stupid Apple product that I believe is called iTunes. Apple is bound to have meddled with it somewhere along the line.

FM is considerably better than either.