IGNORED

Is this a good external cd ripping drive?

I'm just getting started and I need to rip a bunch of CD's. Rather than put the wear and tear on the Macbook Pro's drive I'm looking at this:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/VLU2SD22X/

It's USB only and, being from OWC, is definitely Apple friendly. It uses a Pioneer drive, which I've been told is a good choice.

Thoughts? Other suggestions?

I'm aware of the mythical (and out of production) TEAC and Plextor drives that DBPoweramp expounds but they're unubtanium.

Want some of the Unobtainiu?... All you need is access to a good avatar...

46557_gal.jpg

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

You'd not be put off because dBpoweramp only works with Win. If you have a Win PC nearby, you can rip your CD collection in any Apple format and import it to your Mac for playing. Look at Pure Audio or Amarra for hi-res plays.

Juan[br]DigiBit Team

Tell you my thoughts on this. Which many will dispute. All this worry about ripping is mostly paranoia.

BTW, I used just the drive you are looking at to rip about one third of my 600 CD's.

I used software that compares reads multiple times to see if they are the same, and will re-read if they aren't. I settled on letting it read 3 times due to time constraints. I had a couple of aborted attempts where I tried to do 10 or 15 CD's per evening rather than all at once. By the time I had done just over 150 CD's I decided even this was cooling my desire to continue.