IGNORED

Firewire cable quality/length influence on sound quality

I have heard a great deal of debate about whether or not digital cables influence the sound. I understand that a bad cable can cause complete failure, but as I am an actual computer engineer I have my doubts that a 'high end' digital cable can provide better sound than a standard fully functional cable.

I have a Weiss DAC 202. These DACs feature a bit perfect indicator as well as bitrate and depth display, so it is easy to determine whether or not the DAC is receiving perfect data, this makes it easy to determine whether or not your digital cable is fully functional.

I am happy to say that with this DAC (which can use it's internal clock for timing), that an el-cheapo 30 foot long cable works perfectly at every rate including 24/192. Be aware that the firewire spec requires that cables be a maximum of 15 feet long, so the cable I used is out of spec to begin with, but it still works perfectly.

Win7 HTPC -> Weiss DAC 202 -> Krell EVO 402 -> Martin Logan CLX -> Dedicated anechoic listening room -> Me

In theory the cable should not play a role however in practice we find that it does and that there are audible differences between different cables. As the stream is bit-perfect current best knowledge is that it is due to cable's effects on jitter (which is difficult to believe due to the way weiss dac's handle/suppress jitter).

Additionally the removal of the power transmission within the cable has been said to improve the sound (achieved either through use of a 4-6pin firewire adapter, covering up of the power terminal with electrical tape, or snipping of the power wire within the cable).

I am sure any firewire cable "works perfectly" in the sense that the signal is transmitted and we get sound of the DAC, however some cables work more "perfectly" than others :). There are numerous threads on this topic on this site.