IGNORED

Music Server Recommendation for Merging NADAC (ravenna ethernet)

Hello,

I recently got the Merging NADAC (with external power supply). I set up my Macbook Air (M1) to pipe the bits straight into the NADAC, and not surprising, it sounds so-so since my laptop is not an optimized server/streamer. My CD transport piping into the DAC via Coaxial actually sounds much better. For those who are using a network attached DAC (esp one using Ravenna over ethernet), do you have a music server (off the shelf or DIY) and network topology setup you would point me to that would give me the best SQ. I am hoping to fully realize the benefits of AOIP ethernet over USB.

Any help or advice much appreciated. Thank you.  

I have no experience with the M1 but I have used the NADAC (and its stablemate, the Anubis) and I am doubtful that your disappointment is due to the M1 itself.  What music program are you using to play to the NADAC and how is it configured?

Kal Rubinson

Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

Hi @Kal Rubinson, I am using Audirvana, and have configured it based on the instructions from Merging: https://confluence.merging.com/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=9338957

A possible weak link is the thunderbolt-to-ethernet adapter (Amazon Basics) that I am using. Apparently the Merging folks are recommending this adaptor these days: https://www.sonnettech.com/product/thunderbolt-avb-adapter/overview.html.

Also, when playing DSD on Audirvana sounds weird (high res PCM was much better). I was told that Audivana never quite got for DSD playback right. Any music program that does well for both high res PCM and DSD?

14 hours ago, longinc said:

Also, when playing DSD on Audirvana sounds weird (high res PCM was much better). I was told that Audivana never quite got for DSD playback right. Any music program that does well for both high res PCM and DSD?